Give and Take

IMG_2966-001I heard on the news that it is ‘Random Acts of Kindness’ week. I assume this refers to those times when a stranger unexpectedly buys someone’s coffee, drive-thru order, or maybe pays for their groceries. I think I’ll participate and will let you know later what happens. But, should it be just one week and must it be random?

It has caused me to think about how important people are to one another and what a blessing we can be to each other. ‘Give and take’ is what makes the world function at it’s best and our happiness will be the result. Are you a ‘giver’ or a ‘taker’? I think we are out of balance when we only do one of these, and that it’s best to do both consistently.

If you’re like me, fiercely independent, you hesitate to ask for help from others. I never want to inconvenience anyone or put someone out if I can figure it out myself. I am forever trying to do everything on my own. On the other hand, I usually don’t think twice about helping someone else. I don’t consider it an annoyance or bother (most of the time) if a friend or associate needs a favor. Why, then, am I so unwilling to accept the same? I suppose some of it is pride and some of it stubborness. It is a habit I am trying to break.

I have learned that we are depriving others of their desire to give and the fulfillment that comes with it when we refuse to accept help. People by nature want to do good and get something from it when they are allowed to do so. We were created to exist in community and not on our own. We must be willing to accept as much as we are willing to give. God has designed us this way for a reason. Who knows what might be waiting for us if we reach out and ask for a helping hand? I challenge you to the following over the coming month: one act of kindness (random or not), and one request of/acceptance of help when you have a need. Reach out and give! Reach out and take! Let me know how it goes.
Traci

About tracitalks

Actress, writer and therapist who believes in the law of attraction, breaking thought barriers and living your dreams. Into traveling, prayer, and inspiring others. Learn more at www.tracitalks.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Kindness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Give and Take

  1. Lisa Weaver says:

    Love it. So true in my life

Leave a Reply

